Gendalia (gendalia) wrote,
Gendalia
gendalia

  • Mood:

drop dead date for time zone file updates is March 11th

I have something in my reminder file about making sure my machines have the updated time zone files.  Thinking about it, I thought I should remind others about it, so no one is surprised.

For digital unix, netbsd, linux, solaris, and ultrix (all I've checked so far) this will tell you if you have the current (and correct) zone file:
# zdump -v US/Central | grep 2007
US/Central  Sun Mar 11 07:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 01:59:59 2007 CST isdst=0
US/Central  Sun Mar 11 08:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 03:00:00 2007 CDT isdst=1
US/Central  Sun Nov  4 06:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Nov  4 01:59:59 2007 CDT isdst=1
US/Central  Sun Nov  4 07:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Nov  4 01:00:00 2007 CST isdst=0

A not updated machine will look like:
% /usr/sbin/zdump -v US/Central | grep 2007
US/Central  Sun Apr  1 07:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Apr  1 01:59:59 2007 CST isdst=0
US/Central  Sun Apr  1 08:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Apr  1 03:00:00 2007 CDT isdst=1
US/Central  Sun Oct 28 06:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Oct 28 01:59:59 2007 CDT isdst=1
US/Central  Sun Oct 28 07:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Oct 28 01:00:00 2007 CST isdst=0

As far as I know, anything that still gets updates from Microsoft (for those of you who must use Windows) should have gotten the updates quite a while ago.  I suspect that even those versions that don't get updates from Microsoft will have patches available somewhere, but digging may be required.
Tags: timezone sysadmin
Subscribe
  • Post a new comment

    Error

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.
  • 1 comment